Your Menstrual Cycle Explained



The menstrual cycle can range from 21 to 35 days, with individual variations considered normal. An average cycle is about 28 days. 

 It is divided into four phases: menstruation, the follicular phase, ovulation, and the luteal phase.

1. Menstruation (roughly day 1-5): This phase marks the beginning of the cycle and is characterized by the shedding of the uterine lining, resulting in your period.

2. Follicular Phase (roughly Day 1-13): This phase technically includes your menstrual phase as well. During this phase, follicles (eggs) in the ovaries develop, with one dominant follicle (egg) ultimately developing.

3. Ovulation (roughly Day 14): Ovulation is when the matured egg is released from the ovary into the fallopian tube, making it available to meet the sperm.

4. Luteal Phase (roughly Day 15-28): After ovulation, the ruptured follicle (egg) transforms into the corpus luteum, which produces progesterone.  



Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published